A Very Busy Quarter

I am super busy this quarter.  Along with my continuing research into increasing the length of DNA nanotubes, I am taking four biology classes and doing some volunteer work with a local medical organization.  As far as my research is going I have an awesome internship with RISE and will presenting some of my data at the SCCUR conference in November.  I am super excited for the latter.  I have a couple of successful ways of increasing the average length of the nanotubes but nothing that gets me to the 100 micron range that I want.  Currently, I am working on a temperature cycling method (slightly hard to explain) and a neat way to increase the frequency of end-to-end joining.  Like all research things are moving slowly but I will eventually get there. Hopefully.

 

~Alex

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “A Very Busy Quarter
  1. Taylor Tidwell says:

    Hey Alex, my name is Taylor and I’m a freshman at UCSB this year. I’ve been reading your posts and I was really interested in your journey working in research labs. I’m currently trying to find a lab to participate in, and was wondering if you had an words of wisdom to offer. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Student Contributors
Alex Iteen is a second year student majoring in Biology. He is interested in bioengineering and synthetic biology. He is currently working in Dr. Fygenson's lab on DNA nanotubes.
See all his posts

David Wallace is a third year student majoring in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology. He is currently working in Professor Weimbs's lab studying the pathogenic mechanisms of Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease (ADPKD).
See all his posts

Eneida Chesnut is a senior majoring in chemical engineering. She transferred from SBCC, where she studied chemistry. She works with organic materials for solar cells and is very interested in renewable energy research.
See all her posts

Erzsebet is a second year chemical engineering major. She is interested in biotechnology and biophysics, and is working in Professor David Awschalom's lab investigating how cephalopod skin responds to different types of stimulation by light.
See all her posts

Madison Cornwell is a second year student majoring in Biochemistry and Spanish. She is a EUREKA intern through the California NanoSystems Institute and the Resident Assistant of the Women in Science and Technology House in Manzanita Village. She will be working closely with Dr. Kosik and graduate student Israel Hernandez for the remainder of her time at UCSB.
See all her posts
Participate
Are you interested in contributing to the UCSB Undergraduate Research blog? Email Kelly Pillsbury for more information.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 14,793 visitors
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.