And now for something completely different…

Hello all! Mandy Baxter here. I’m a bit new to this whole blog thing, so bear with me as I figure it out; I’ve never so much as kept a diary before. I’m a second year here at Santa Barbara, currently balancing 21 units, academic clubs, research and keeping up the pretense of a social life. My major is Aquatic Biology, my department is Earth Science but I work in the Marine Science labs studying “methantrophic benthic biofilms”. Say that five times fast. Don’t worry, I can’t either. The graduate student I work for is probably going to read this and correct me on what I’m actually working on. Basically we’re looking at the DNA of the little creatures and viruses that live on the ocean floor and eat methane. It’s a tad bit more complicated than that, but the goal of this blog is not to make you google every fifth word like I was when I was trying to read the first few papers I was assigned to get an overview of the research I’d be starting.
Since I’m going to be referencing him a lot I should probably introduce my graduate student mentor. His name is Blair Paul and he recently got major cool points in my book for quoting Mission: Impossible when emailing my last ‘mission’. I wish it was Mission: Moderately Difficult, but there you go. Let’s give him some credit, he’s got a good sense of humor and has been very patient with my limited (read: nonexistent) background knowledge on the subject and is always willing to explain what I don’t understand and what he needs me to do. I’m getting quite a crash course of background knowledge because his field is pretty specific, but incorporates many different subjects – marine biology, a little organic chemistry, mostly microbiology, and lots of genetics (note– lots of overlap among those). I’m also getting some exposure to new computer programs, which is a slightly intimidating concept. Computers have never been my strong point.  The main problem currently seems to be finding a computer program that can do everything we want it to (which Blair assures me, doesn’t exist).  The use of computer algorithms to address questions in biology is generally known as a bioinformatic analysis.  According to Blair, in bioinformatics we tend to develop “workflows” or “pipelines” that include a mix of programming code, some freely available tools, and hopefully not too much ‘black-box’ magic to crunch our data (in this case, DNA code). 

Once we settle on a process, I will hopefully be able to give a more coherent picture of the kind of research I’m actually doing.  Now however, it’s quite late and I have a lovely round of lectures starting at 8:00am tomorrow – one of the few forms of torture that is still condoned in the modern world. Happy researching!

Currently Should be Reading: Organic Chemistry – Paula Bruice

Currently Shouldn’t be Reading: Last Chance to See – Doulgas Adams

Currently on Pandora: Lover’s Wreck – Gaelic Storm
“This message will self-destruct in 10 seconds…  (just kidding 🙂 )” – Blair

Posted in 2010-2011, EUREKA

Leave a Reply

Student Contributors
Alex Iteen is a second year student majoring in Biology. He is interested in bioengineering and synthetic biology. He is currently working in Dr. Fygenson's lab on DNA nanotubes.
See all his posts

David Wallace is a third year student majoring in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology. He is currently working in Professor Weimbs's lab studying the pathogenic mechanisms of Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease (ADPKD).
See all his posts

Eneida Chesnut is a senior majoring in chemical engineering. She transferred from SBCC, where she studied chemistry. She works with organic materials for solar cells and is very interested in renewable energy research.
See all her posts

Erzsebet is a second year chemical engineering major. She is interested in biotechnology and biophysics, and is working in Professor David Awschalom's lab investigating how cephalopod skin responds to different types of stimulation by light.
See all her posts

Madison Cornwell is a second year student majoring in Biochemistry and Spanish. She is a EUREKA intern through the California NanoSystems Institute and the Resident Assistant of the Women in Science and Technology House in Manzanita Village. She will be working closely with Dr. Kosik and graduate student Israel Hernandez for the remainder of her time at UCSB.
See all her posts
Participate
Are you interested in contributing to the UCSB Undergraduate Research blog? Email Kelly Pillsbury for more information.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 19,054 visitors