Life, the Universe and Everything (Gluten Free)

A week ago I tested positive for Celiac Disease, the reason why I’ve spent the better part of the last year and a half sick. I haven’t been able to get much research done in the last few weeks as I’ve been feeling pretty run down, so I decided instead I’d use this blog post to help raise awareness.

Celiac affects 1 in every 120-odd Americans, possibly more. Your chances go up to 1 in 22 if you are like me and have a close relative with Celiac – my mom. Celiac Disease is an autoimmune disorder where the body treats the protein gluten as a poison, which leads to the immune system attacking the small intestine. Slowly this destroys the body’s ability to absorb nutrients and can lead to a variety of health risks, short term being gastrointestinal issues and malnutrition, to long term problems ranging from diabetes, osteoporosis and an increased risk of cancer. At this point there is no cure except for a gluten-free diet, which involves cutting out wheat, kamut, spelt, barley, rye and malt. If I manage to cut out everything, my body will heal and hopefully I’ll go back to being healthy.

What does living gluten free mean? It means that I’ll be shopping at Whole Foods a whole lot more. It means that if I can’t read the ingredient label, I can’t have it – I’ll be having little but salads, no crutons please at restaurants. It means I need to make sure the obvious (bread, bagels, brownies) and the non-obvious (soy sauce, hot chocolate, toothpaste) are gluten free. It means that my roommate and I can’t use the same toaster and I’m constantly cloroxing the counters and table to avoid cross contamination. It means a huge lifestyle change, and to be perfectly honest between holidays and finals, I’m overwhelmed.

So why am I telling you? The main reason is that it took a year and a half of being sick for months at a time before I got diagnosed – on average it takes 10 years to get a firm diagnosis. I only found out because I specifically asked my doctor to test me, and he nearly blew me off because I didn’t have the usual range of symptoms. I wasn’t anemic, I didn’t seem malnourished, I wasn’t throwing up. I just kept getting sick, going on any and every prescription drug they could think of and treating the effects, not the cause. If any of this sounds like you or someone you know, I urge you to talk to your doctor. If he or she tells you that Celiac seems to be the “buzz” word these days, then tell them to test anyways. Celiac symptoms are still being discovered, and often don’t occur until the body is subjected to an intense stress such as illness, hospitalization or college. Too many people spend the better part of their lives not knowing how much better they could be feeling because they just haven’t heard about it, when gluten intolerance is in the top 10 most common allergies in the nation.

Also, the more people that know about Celiac the more likely it is that someone will decide to come up with a gluten-free recipe for the donut I’ve been craving. Get on that. 🙂

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions about Celiac, the lifestyle or are just curious.

 

Posted in 2010-2011, EUREKA
3 comments on “Life, the Universe and Everything (Gluten Free)
  1. Hi mandy (if you are still there),

    Are you still craving that donut? Come in and try out our bakery. We are Adama Vegan Comfort Cuisine and are located at 428 Chapala St.

    Marsha

  2. Amanda Baxter says:

    Marsha, you have just made my day 🙂 I will definitely be in soon, thank you so much!!

  3. Jim B. says:

    Would love to hear more about your experience dealing with Celiac disease while in college. My daughter is beginning her college search and this is one of her top concerns.

Leave a Reply

Student Contributors
Alex Iteen is a second year student majoring in Biology. He is interested in bioengineering and synthetic biology. He is currently working in Dr. Fygenson's lab on DNA nanotubes.
See all his posts

David Wallace is a third year student majoring in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology. He is currently working in Professor Weimbs's lab studying the pathogenic mechanisms of Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease (ADPKD).
See all his posts

Eneida Chesnut is a senior majoring in chemical engineering. She transferred from SBCC, where she studied chemistry. She works with organic materials for solar cells and is very interested in renewable energy research.
See all her posts

Erzsebet is a second year chemical engineering major. She is interested in biotechnology and biophysics, and is working in Professor David Awschalom's lab investigating how cephalopod skin responds to different types of stimulation by light.
See all her posts

Madison Cornwell is a second year student majoring in Biochemistry and Spanish. She is a EUREKA intern through the California NanoSystems Institute and the Resident Assistant of the Women in Science and Technology House in Manzanita Village. She will be working closely with Dr. Kosik and graduate student Israel Hernandez for the remainder of her time at UCSB.
See all her posts
Participate
Are you interested in contributing to the UCSB Undergraduate Research blog? Email Kelly Pillsbury for more information.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 19,054 visitors