Not Much New Here Yet

Talked with Professor Valentine before Thanksgiving. I’m not so sure that his lab is what I’m looking for. Apparently there is a research cruise that the whole lab is going on right before school starts for 3 weeks I think. Besides the fact that I get seasick and would have to miss the first week of school, this would be a cool thing to be involved in…..buttt I don’t really know if their topics of research are what I am looking for. Next Tuesday I will be meeting with Professor Rothman so I am hoping that he inspires me a little bit more. I think I am also going to contact Professor Fisher again, even though his lab was full the last time I checked. His research really intrigued me.

On another note, I am really really really looking forward to finishing up this quarter. Starting tomorrow morning I have vowed to pretty much live in the library this weekend and most of next week. I cannot be productive in my house, and despite the ridiculous weight of books I will have to lug all the way from IV to Davidson, it is necessary.  As much as I would like to say that next quarter will be better and a little more relaxing, I can’t. 8 hours of Ochem lab, 3 of bio lab, a total of 17 units and hopefully this internship is going to keep me on my toes. I am really sad I don’t have space in my schedule again for the .5 unit soccer class that I took this quarter. I have been a slacker when it came to running this quarter, but at least the class got me exercising twice a week doing something I love. UGH. I used to be so in shape when I did cross country and track. Any of that is ALL GONE now. I can’t believe I thought I was busy in high school! HA! I thought I was busy last year too! Next quarter will be the test. (Although admittedly this sounds like nothing when you compare my schedule to Madison Cornwall’s this quarter. Jeez girl you inspire me.) Alright. Enough complaining. Off to study my life away this week!

Posted in 2010-2011, EUREKA

Leave a Reply

Student Contributors
Alex Iteen is a second year student majoring in Biology. He is interested in bioengineering and synthetic biology. He is currently working in Dr. Fygenson's lab on DNA nanotubes.
See all his posts

David Wallace is a third year student majoring in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology. He is currently working in Professor Weimbs's lab studying the pathogenic mechanisms of Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease (ADPKD).
See all his posts

Eneida Chesnut is a senior majoring in chemical engineering. She transferred from SBCC, where she studied chemistry. She works with organic materials for solar cells and is very interested in renewable energy research.
See all her posts

Erzsebet is a second year chemical engineering major. She is interested in biotechnology and biophysics, and is working in Professor David Awschalom's lab investigating how cephalopod skin responds to different types of stimulation by light.
See all her posts

Madison Cornwell is a second year student majoring in Biochemistry and Spanish. She is a EUREKA intern through the California NanoSystems Institute and the Resident Assistant of the Women in Science and Technology House in Manzanita Village. She will be working closely with Dr. Kosik and graduate student Israel Hernandez for the remainder of her time at UCSB.
See all her posts
Participate
Are you interested in contributing to the UCSB Undergraduate Research blog? Email Kelly Pillsbury for more information.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 18,951 visitors