Science and Therapy Baking

The first two weeks of school have already flown by, and I have never been so thankful to have a three day weekend so early in the quarter. School has started with a vengeance – Ochem Lab will be the death of me. But on a happier note, I feel like classes this quarter are more to my interest – yes Ecology and Evolutionary biology is a bit of a joke at the moment but it’s still more to my taste than human anatomy. Randomly enough, I’ve made friends with my ecology lab TA – she’s studying in the Marine Science labs too, so we chat occasionally. Dave Valentine’s research cruise class is awesome, occasionally he breaks my brain a little but the group has a really good dynamic. It’s very conversational, and it has an interesting mix of graduate students, biology students, engineers and a random global studies major. It’s also fun having a class with Blair, who’s been really busy getting abstracts and presentations together. Right now I’m just reading some papers for him, before we start the next section of his project. SACNAS has been revving up as we started planning out the meetings for this quarter and organizing a Spring Outreach event for politically correct high school students (I’m told we don’t say “disadvantaged” anymore).

All in all, even with only 15 units I’m staying pretty busy. I’m really glad I decided to take it easy this quarter – these last two weeks have been stressful enough. Unfortunately my health is slowly going downhill – I’m back to a gluten diet because my consulting doctor couldn’t get me an appointment over break, and staying gluten free would have meant that the test might not come back conclusive because… I’d be too healthy for them to tell if I had Celiac? Yup. So I have to keep myself sick until next week when I’m going back to Lodi for the final round of tests. In a month or so I’ll hopefully stop being so tired and anemic and BORING. On a slightly different note, Dan is back in Manchester. We talked it over and decided that Spring Break isn’t a good option – plane tickets are expensive considering I’d only have 5 days. So blah blah blah, pathetic girlfriend, I don’t get to see him for 5 months. Missing someone is exhausting, but at least we have skype… we sit and do homework together. That’s my little rant. There are a dozen and a half carrot cake muffins with cream cheese frosting at my house that you need to come eat. These things are dangerously delicious. Drop by sometime 🙂

 

Posted in 2010-2011, EUREKA
3 comments on “Science and Therapy Baking
  1. MW says:

    Would you be interested in another SB student who is also gluten free as a roommate for 2011-12? Please contact me 🙂

    • Mandy says:

      I actually am pretty attached to my current roommate, who is going waaay out of her way to keep me safe, but I ALWAYS like new friends 🙂

  2. MW says:

    Hi Mandy,

    Thanks for your response earlier this month. I’m just now getting around to see if you responded. I know my comment to you was so random that you probably thought it a little creepy, so I want to explain in order to lift the creepy effect.

    In a nutshell, my daughter (a UCSB junior) is looking for a roommate for next year. She has been living in a house with other triathletes this year but it’s not been the best experience for a few reasons. I’m just a loving Mom trying to reach out in assistance to her to locate other GF students who might be interested in the idea of rooming with someone who has like food issues. Actually she would probably be mortified if she knew I commented here!

    I appreciated your short response but if I could ask one other question of you. Are you aware of any group/organization at SB where we can go to locate other GF students? I’ve searched high and low with no luck.

    Good luck on your research and school year.

    All the best.

Leave a Reply

Student Contributors
Alex Iteen is a second year student majoring in Biology. He is interested in bioengineering and synthetic biology. He is currently working in Dr. Fygenson's lab on DNA nanotubes.
See all his posts

David Wallace is a third year student majoring in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology. He is currently working in Professor Weimbs's lab studying the pathogenic mechanisms of Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease (ADPKD).
See all his posts

Eneida Chesnut is a senior majoring in chemical engineering. She transferred from SBCC, where she studied chemistry. She works with organic materials for solar cells and is very interested in renewable energy research.
See all her posts

Erzsebet is a second year chemical engineering major. She is interested in biotechnology and biophysics, and is working in Professor David Awschalom's lab investigating how cephalopod skin responds to different types of stimulation by light.
See all her posts

Madison Cornwell is a second year student majoring in Biochemistry and Spanish. She is a EUREKA intern through the California NanoSystems Institute and the Resident Assistant of the Women in Science and Technology House in Manzanita Village. She will be working closely with Dr. Kosik and graduate student Israel Hernandez for the remainder of her time at UCSB.
See all her posts
Participate
Are you interested in contributing to the UCSB Undergraduate Research blog? Email Kelly Pillsbury for more information.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 19,054 visitors