Time is Tricky

For one thing, I keep losing track of when I’m supposed to be posting! For another, dead week looked a lot longer on the other side of Wednesday. In 12 verrrry short hours I’ve gone from “Oh, I practically have a week until my first final!” to “OH NOOOO!”

It’s just the usual final stresses though, I’m actually surprisingly on track with my workload. My writing class is done – I ROCKED my presentation on Anaerobic Microbes (145/150), which was the oral half of the [11 page single spaced] paper I wrote based on the background to my lab work. Today I presented and submitted my proposal to Dave for the work I’ll be doing over summer and on the research cruise, so I’m done with that class too. I had some issues writing the research proposal – I’ve never done anything like it before so I got stuck a lot, but Blair has been great about walking me through the steps and helping me outline everything. It was scary presenting too, I mean, how intimidating is it to explain and justify a research project to someone who knows more than you ever will about the subject? I agonized for a week, but it paid off! Blair found me after and told me he was impressed with my grasp of the material – victory dance! Now, I just need to spend the next week and a half reading for my African History and Bio Diversity classes, preferably out in that one thing, I think it’s called sunshine. Maybe even find time to go into lab to do labwork instead of picking Blair’s brain for proposal work? I’m getting a little burned out but I have a plan to get me through this last week and a half.

On another note, there’s only a week and a half of school left! I cannot believe how fast the last two have flown. I’m so glad that I got involved with research early, and can look back at all these amazing experiences, instead of just trying to get started. Life changing, to say the least. The more I learn and the more I do with Dave’s lab, the more I consider sticking with it. Today, I was excited to explain to a friend why hand sanitizer only kills 99% percent of bacteria. It made me realize I not only like the research, I know more than I give myself credit for πŸ˜›

Here’s the summer plan, because this may be my last post! Saturday the 11th, I drive home to Lodi. My aunt and I will celebrate our birthday (June 28th) early because Tuesday the 14th… I fly to England! I’m spending 2 weeks in Manchester, London, Wales, Scotland?… wherever else Dan takes me, and 2 weeks in Rome with his family. YES I am excited. I haven’t seen Dan in 5 months (incidentally, it’s our 1 year anniversary) and I’ve never been out of the country before so I start bouncing off the walls whenever I think about it. Since I’m flying out of Sacramento to see my parents, instead of LAX, I have gloriously long 13 /20 hour flights going and returning. I will be catching up on my leisure reading, and appreciate any suggestions πŸ˜‰ THEN as soon as I get back in Santa Barbara, research starts at full steam! Blair and I will be doing a bunch of sequencing on samples we already have, and getting ready like crazy for the research cruise. I also talked to Stephen Gosnell, who I worked for my freshman year, and I’ll be helping him on some early morning/weekend field work and lab stuff. I know Blair, lab work with him won’t be starting til 11 at the earliest ;P Then September 11th we’ll all be driving up together to SF to get to our SHIP – Atlantis. 2+ weeks of sampling and research on a ship, then months and months of labwork to figure out what all our samples mean!

So basically what I’m saying is that finals week and plane rides are the only relaxation I’ll be getting until Christmas. Just the way I like my life πŸ˜‰ And so my dear readers, I think our time has come to an end. I hope that you’ve enjoyed the last year, and maybe even got some advice or insight. Or smiled. I’m happy with that too. I leave you with this: Time is tricky. It goes faster than you think. Always. So if it’s ever wandered into your head to do research or study abroad or learn to walk a tightrope then stop stalling and do it. You aren’t waiting to get more experience, or until you learn a skill, or until you have more time, you’re just losing time. Throw yourself in, make it up til you get it, and learn as you go. And then when you’re 80 and still running marathons, you’ll have epic stories. That’s my plan at least. Cheers πŸ™‚

“You live and you learn. At any rate, you live.” Douglas Adams

Posted in 2010-2011, EUREKA

Leave a Reply

Student Contributors
Alex Iteen is a second year student majoring in Biology. He is interested in bioengineering and synthetic biology. He is currently working in Dr. Fygenson's lab on DNA nanotubes.
See all his posts

David Wallace is a third year student majoring in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology. He is currently working in Professor Weimbs's lab studying the pathogenic mechanisms of Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease (ADPKD).
See all his posts

Eneida Chesnut is a senior majoring in chemical engineering. She transferred from SBCC, where she studied chemistry. She works with organic materials for solar cells and is very interested in renewable energy research.
See all her posts

Erzsebet is a second year chemical engineering major. She is interested in biotechnology and biophysics, and is working in Professor David Awschalom's lab investigating how cephalopod skin responds to different types of stimulation by light.
See all her posts

Madison Cornwell is a second year student majoring in Biochemistry and Spanish. She is a EUREKA intern through the California NanoSystems Institute and the Resident Assistant of the Women in Science and Technology House in Manzanita Village. She will be working closely with Dr. Kosik and graduate student Israel Hernandez for the remainder of her time at UCSB.
See all her posts
Participate
Are you interested in contributing to the UCSB Undergraduate Research blog? Email Kelly Pillsbury for more information.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 18,951 visitors