Summertime

Another school year has culminated, and the core of my upper division biochemistry major course have been completed.  Some of the classes I took were way more rigorous than I ever expected (Even though I had been warned about the terrors of the upper division biochemistry lab, I only thought people were over-the-top complaining.).  A few courses seemed to pass by at a snail’s pace, but now I have finished my junior year of college and it feels great.  I think that doing research helped me make it through the school-work because I was able to learn about science in an interactive way outside of studying textbooks.  Working in a lab and being able to figure out things for yourself allows more freedom for creativity than regular classwork.  I have always been the type of person that learns better by doing things on my own and designing my own way to go about the process.  My faculty adviser worked perfectly with me because he started me off on my own project under graduate supervision.  Although I worked closely with my graduate mentor at the beginning of sophomore year in order to learn the different laboratory techniques, eventually by the end of the school year I was working nearly autonomously.  I always discuss my results with my mentor and adviser, but I was devising my own ways to solve problems when an experiment didn’t work out.  I was especially happy when I figured out a mismatch dimer test to discover why I was unable to form a self-programmable RNA cube.  From my experiment I was able to see that some of the eight pieces that were intended to make a cubic molecule were mispairing and the cubic structure was unable to form.  I found that discovering things on my own in the laboratory was more satisfying than getting a good grade on a test and the excitement I got from biochemistry research has helped me make it through the tough classes.

Now that I am done with the majority of my biochem school work I am going to start taking classes in Evolution and Ecology in pursuit of a double major.  I am hoping that my future research will incorporate biochemistry and evolution….I will keep posting on my progress.  Happy summertime!

Posted in 2010-2011, EUREKA

Leave a Reply

Student Contributors
Alex Iteen is a second year student majoring in Biology. He is interested in bioengineering and synthetic biology. He is currently working in Dr. Fygenson's lab on DNA nanotubes.
See all his posts

David Wallace is a third year student majoring in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology. He is currently working in Professor Weimbs's lab studying the pathogenic mechanisms of Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease (ADPKD).
See all his posts

Eneida Chesnut is a senior majoring in chemical engineering. She transferred from SBCC, where she studied chemistry. She works with organic materials for solar cells and is very interested in renewable energy research.
See all her posts

Erzsebet is a second year chemical engineering major. She is interested in biotechnology and biophysics, and is working in Professor David Awschalom's lab investigating how cephalopod skin responds to different types of stimulation by light.
See all her posts

Madison Cornwell is a second year student majoring in Biochemistry and Spanish. She is a EUREKA intern through the California NanoSystems Institute and the Resident Assistant of the Women in Science and Technology House in Manzanita Village. She will be working closely with Dr. Kosik and graduate student Israel Hernandez for the remainder of her time at UCSB.
See all her posts
Participate
Are you interested in contributing to the UCSB Undergraduate Research blog? Email Kelly Pillsbury for more information.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 18,951 visitors